3rd Cork Brigade

Cork Brigades 1919

Appreciation to John Murray, Ovens, Co Cork

CORK NO. 3 Brigade was formed at a meeting of Battalion officers from the area, held at Kilnadur, Dunmanway on January 5th, 1919. Michael Collins presided and Thomas MacCurtain, Commandant of the original Cork Brigade now being divided was present, accompanied by his Brigade Adjutant and Quartermaster. Tom Hales was elected Brigade Commandant: Sean Hayes T.D.:Vice Commandant; Michael McCarthy, Dunmanway, Adjutant, and Denis O’Shea, Skibbereen, Quartermaster.

This meeting planned for Dunmanway Town was changed to Kilnadur school-house at short notice.

A re-organisation in the following August created some changes in this Staff. Ted O’Sullivan, then O/C 5th Battalion, became Brigade Vice Commandant, Liam Deasy, Adjutant, 1st Battalion became Brigade Adjutant, replacing Michael McCarthy, who was appointed O/C. 3rd Battalion and Pat Harte became Brigade Commandant.

This meeting for the formation of Cork 3rd Brigade was the last occassion but one on which Michael Collins visited the South until after the Truce. He presided at a Brigade meeting at Caheragh, Drimoleague, on August 16th, 1919. At this meeting the staff changes mentioned above were made. Gearóid O’Sullivan Adjutant General, attended a staff meeting at Hurley’s, Lauragh, Bandon, in July 1919, to complete arrangemnets for a Brigade – missing line – in August. That camp was under the control of Commandant Dick McKee, O/C Dublin Brigade. Subsequent to August, 1919 no senior member of G.H.Q. Staff visited any of the Cork Brigades, until after the Truce, but senior members of Staffs of all Brigades visited Dublin periodically for G.H.Q. Conferences.

On January 6, 1919, a meeting of officers from the Battalion forming the Cork No. 2 Brigade was held at the house of Batt. Walsh, Glashabee, Mallow. The Brigade was formed from seven Battalions; Fermoy, Mallow, Castletownroche, Charleville, Newmarket, Kanturk and Millstreet – and they were numbered one to seven in that order. The Commandants of the Newmarket and Kanturk Battalions were not present.

Due to a failure in the communications system, the notice convening the meeting did not reach either of them. Thomas MacCurtain presided at the meeting. Liam Lynch was unanimously elected Brigade Commandant; Dan Hegarty, Mallow, Vice-Commandant; Tom Barry, Glanworth, Adjutant.